Things Just Ain’t Where They Used To Be!

Let’s face it gals, the older we get the more things change, right? I mean, things just aren’t how, or where, they used to be. I’d be lying if I said it didn’t bother me at all, but it’s really just part of getting older. At 40-something a woman, or man for that matter, will never look like they did in their 20’s. Not even if they have a ton of plastic surgery! Our bodies eventually start to wear out, beauty fades, and we look older. Don’t get me wrong, I’m going to fight those wrinkles tooth and nail for as long as I can! But I’m here to tell you, that there are some things that just aren’t worth the fight!  

Most people gain weight as they get older. I tend to believe there’s a reason for that. The older we get, the slower, and less mobile we get, which means we’ll be sitting more. Therefore, more meat is needed on our butts so that we can sit more comfortably. Another reason we need a little extra padding is that kids just prefer to hug a soft grandma. That sort of thing I totally get! What I don’t get is why everything has to start falling down! I mean, does that really have to happen?! I see no logical reason for gravity to be so cruel. That being said, let me tell y’all about what happened at my house the other day. 

My husband, Steve, and I have a funny way of dealing with things. And I mean that literally. We deal with things by cracking jokes and/or making fun of others and each other. Don’t judge. It’s just how we roll. So the other day I asked him about how tall 30-something inches was. I was holding my hand against my body as if to say “is it about right here?” He studied for a second then said “I guess it’s about where your nipples used to be.” Just as serious and calm as ever. I stared at him for a minute, trying to be mad, then I just moved my hand up a little (very little mind you) and said, “Right about here then?” To which he replied, “Nah, it’s more like where they are now.” Y’all, I busted a gut! For real! Like, that’s seriously funny stuff! But it got me to thinking about things. 

We are all fearfully and wonderfully made, right? If that’s true, then why do we fight so hard against things that happen just exactly the way God meant for them to happen? Why do we look at our aging faces and bodies, and our gray hair and think we look awful? Sometimes we’re so dumb! Look at it this way, if our breasts were meant to stay in exactly the same place, why were bras invented?! Our shirts cover them up! Bras were invented because some old lady got tired of those old, saggy boobies getting in the way, when she was rolling out her biscuit dough! I would imagine it’s pretty painful to roll over a nipple with one of those wooden rolling pins! Oh my goodness! Y’all, God is to us spiritually, like bras are to our breasts! Check this out! *Don’t worry—I am with you. Don’t be afraid—I am your God. I will make you strong and help you. I will support you with my right hand that brings victory. Isaiah 41:10* I told you! When we grow tired and weary, He supports us! 

Pay close attention to what I’m telling you. We should always try to see ourselves the way God sees us, and to try to be the best we can be, with what God’s given us! Instead of worrying about appearances so much, we probably should worry more about whether or not we’re fulfilling the destiny God intended for us! Can I get an amen?! Oh, and before any of you get your panties in a wad about Steve’s remark…Steve loves me with a godly heart and with godly love! The ONLY kind of true love there is! He thinks I’m beautiful, and even if something should happen that caused me to be disfigured, I would never think he’d love me any less! Look, neither of us look like we used to, and we’ve been married long enough, and are secure enough in our love to crack jokes. I’ve cracked plenty on him! But he can start his own dang blog if he wants to tell y’all about them :-).The moral of this story is, without the support of a bra, you could lose, or seriously injure your nipple! And without the support of our Lord and Savior you could lose, or seriously hinder your destiny!

Starting now let’s all stop worrying about things that don’t matter (as much) and start asking God to show us what He wants us to be doing. Let’s not let our circumstances dictate our destinies! The enemy will do anything to stop us! Let’s put fear, lack of confidence, doubt, pain….whatever it is that’s keeping us from fulfilling our destiny aside, and get busy serving the Lord! Even if things aren’t exactly how, or where they should, or used to be God will always make a way! He will always support us when things go south! In good times and bad, God is always there!

 I know how to live when I am poor and when I have plenty. I have learned the secret of how to live through any kind of situation—when I have enough to eat or when I am hungry, when I have everything I need or when I have nothing. Christ is the one who gives me the strength I need to do whatever I must do. Philippians 4:12-13

Leave a comment